Brains. That’s what’s for dinner.

And out of the darkness, the Zombie did call
True pain and suffering he brought to them all
Away ran the children to hide in their beds,
for fear that the devil would chop off their heads

-The Call of the Zombie – Rob Zombie

Well, starting a tradition of posting about each other’s posts(that’s how most of the blogosphere works), here I go with a zombie post inspired by jpastor’s journal.

Zombies have always fascinated me from the sociological and spiritual contexts. The origins of this are generally accepted as Afro-Caribbean, but the basis of the concept are as old as human culture and religion, and seems inherent to many different cultures with little underlaying cultural bonds. There is little doubt that if I had finished my Anthropology/Sociology studies, I would have probably focused my graduation project on the Voodoo spiritual system, and if I had the means, I would have probably traveled to New Orleans and Haiti.

Father give me the Bull of Heaven,
So he can kill Gilgamesh in his dwelling.
If you do not give me the Bull of Heaven,
I will knock down the Gates of the Netherworld,
I will smash the doorposts, and leave the doors flat down,
and will let the dead go up to eat the living!
And the dead will outnumber the living!

– The Epic of Gilgamesh (Ancient Sumerian legend)

Ethnobotanists have studied the phenomenon in Haiti and found that near-death poisoning with Tetrodoxin directly in the bloodstream can actually make the patient seem dead, and wake shortly later and remain in some sort of dissociative consciousness, in cases during weeks before recovery. These practices, nonetheless are secretive and not much of their practices and compounds has been reveled to foreign observers.

Zombies have become a staple of modern terror stories. Pop culture has embraced them in movies, music, video games, etc. I love this game:

However, zombies reached their scarest point in 2004, with Zombie Reagan. Undead Republicans give me the hibbie-jibbies.

I stumbled into this test, seemingly I have a 57% chance of surviving a Zombie Apocalypse…

Well, my survival chances are not as high as I expected, I guess I need more canned meals at home. And a gun, the bat under my bed is a classic, but not good enough it seems.

~ by aavalos41 on October 9, 2007.

4 Responses to “Brains. That’s what’s for dinner.”

  1. I have a 35% chance at survival dammit! I’m going to have to stick with you in case there is a zombie apocalypse.

  2. I have a 36% chance of survival, i guess i care too much about my loved ones.

    Since i got together with this one guy it seems difficult to awnser questions like “would you leave a loved one behind to save your own neck?”. Kinda weird.

  3. That’s why new guys are bad for your health.

  4. Never happened before, but i guess that’s not an excuse.

Leave a Reply

 
